Pets in the Afterlife

Last month, I lost my little chihuahua, Peanut. He was very old and had some problems so I did not begrudge him leaving me. At least, he will never have to go through another winter with me demanding that he do his business outside. He used to look at me as if to say “Why did you make it so cold out here?” every time I took him out.

But I have so many questions about what happens to our pets when they pass. Staunch Christians say that they do not have a spirit so they can’t go to Heaven. But what if Heaven would not be Heaven without them? Do we get to have them just so we can be happy?

Personally, I feel he did go to Heaven. As I wept after finding his little body, I felt my mother’s spirit surround me suddenly and she showed me that she had Peanut with her in her lap. I started laughing and crying at the same time, realizing that both of them would be supremely happy with that. Mom always had a little dog in her lap and Peanut loved being on a lap. So, to me, Peanut went to Heaven and he’s waiting for me on my mother’s lap. I will get to see him again!

Leave a Reply

