Growing Up Weird: Confessions of a Closet Medium

Hello Everyone!

Let me introduce myself. My name is Karen and I have recently decided that I should confess a secret I have hidden for years. I have the gifts of Prophecy and Discernment that God has given me to use for His purposes. I grew up very confused because I was never taught about these gifts in the churches I attended. In fact, many of them let it be known that they did not believe that God has current prophets. They believed that those gifts were only for the original church. I am here to say that they are wrong.

It plainly says in the  Bible that He will poor out his gift of prophecy on many in the last days…and I believe we are there. I allowed the opinions of others to keep me silent for many years in an effort to avoid confrontation and keep peace in the Church. Now, I believe that it is time to tell the truth.

My hope is to help others out there who have the gifts and who do not know what to do with them. I am not claiming to be all-knowing about these things. Everything I know has been gleaned by experience. For 45 years, I have stumbled along with the gift, learning along the way about the purposes, pitfalls and dangers involved. I have no control over the gift by choice. After taking control of the gift and using it inappropriately, I asked forgiveness and I asked that God only give me what He wants me to know or do. He has honored that request.

Recently, my grandchildren have begun to exhibit the gifts and I have decided that I must help them learn more about their gifts and what to do with them. I am insistent that they realize that these gifts come from God and they must use them for His Honor and Glory only. The temptations to use them for one’s own purposes are rampant and start early.

To help them understand a little more, I have written a book called Growing Up Weird: Confessions of a Closet Medium. In this book, I have chronicled all the events of my life concerning the gift and explained what I have learned about them. I then realized that there are many more people like myself out there in the world who might also like to read it.

It is my hope that, with this blog, I can connect with others who have had similar experiences. My gift did not end when I published this book. I continue to have manifestations of the gift and God continues to bless me by letting me serve Him. It is here, on this blog, that I will continue to chronicle the mysterious events that go along with this gift.

If you would like to ride along with me or contact me, add your email address to the list at the right. Whenever anything happens, I will post it here. Also, you will be able to buy the book on Amazon.com. It is available in ebook format or as a paperback or audiobook.

http://www.amazon.com/Growing-Up-Weird-Confessions-Closet-ebook/dp/B005S1ZHDQ/ref=sr_1_1_bnp_1_kin?ie=UTF8&qid=1393084524&sr=8-1&keywords=growing+up+weird

31 thoughts on “Growing Up Weird: Confessions of a Closet Medium

  1. I sound a lot like you. Although, I feel that I am able to control me gift. It works best for me to turn it off until someone wants direction or information. I do not allow spirit to enter my life all the time. Being slective has helped me maintain control.
    My children have the gift also. they are slowly learning to trust in their intuition and have confidence in the messages that they receive.
    God has brought us many gifts and life just gets better every day.

  2. Hello there,
    Your blog title TOTALLY caught my eye. I too grew up weird, lol.
    I am wandering the blog world currently, looking for others like me, because most of the time I feel awfully alone with this. It was a pleasure to stumble on your blog. I’ll be checking in and following your journey. And hopefully reading your book.

  3. I definitely don’t believe that I have this gift, but your blog caught my eye nonetheless because I am still very interested in other people that have it. I clicked over from another blog that I read about a couple struggling to get pregnant because I am in sort of the same situation. Anyway, I just wanted to say that I am very intrigued and look forward to following your journey 🙂

    • How Exciting!!! Thank you so much for nominating my blog! I will be unable to do anything about it until the day after Christmas as I have a house full of running playing grandchildren who are hungry….I will be back in touch then (they barely let me get this to you). Thanks again!

  4. Kudos to you, Karen, for having the courage to talk about your gift. I do believe these gifts are more common than people think…..and the key is to use them while we continue to live our daily lives. Something you seem to have done successfully. I hope that your blog will help others accept their connections with the Oneness, in however that manifests for them. Namaste.

    • Thank you for your lovely comment. It came at a time when I was being somewhat attacked for my decision to be honest about everything I have experienced. Although I knew this would happen, it was difficult to take because it came from my own family. I do understand and forgive them and I am confident that they will see what I am talking about as they mature. They too have the gift and they fear it. This is a common problem with the gift and it is why I wrote about it. So, thank you for sending this well-timed comment. It really helped me.

      • Don’t you love synchronicity! I don’t know the specifics of your family dynamics, but I would say this. With the gifts we all receive there also comes a responsibility; to use them wisely and for the highest good. Perhaps the time is not yet right for them to take on that responsibility. The wonderful thing is that you are there to guide them, when they finally are ready to explore the possibilities awaiting them.

        • In the meantime, I am just praying for them in every way. I know they are being attacked themselves and it is my job to pray for them. I will always love them, no matter what and I think they know that. I am also praying for favor with them. In these painful times, I will lean on God who is my constant source of strength, joy and promise.

  5. I read your book. I don’t believe in coincidences. It was given to me for a reason. Thanks for sharing your insights and experiences. My strong beliefs in things that cannot be explained except by faith came to me on our place in Central Texas and the family who raised me with their strong values and faith in God. We are best when we band together and that becomes our strength. I hope to see you at an upcoming book event.

      • You’ve inspired me this year to listen more to the messages especially the hopeful ones that come as a result of being quiet. You are brave to tell your story. Keep the faith and stay optimistic despite your critics. It takes time for some to embrace your gift. It makes them see another dimension of themselves that they have disavowed till now.

        • Thank you, Carolyn, for your positive response again. I have come out of the worst of the criticism with a little more wisdom and for that I am thankful. I can always use more wisdom! Also, my critics have become somewhat more accepting of me and my weirdness. The world is better now. But I greatly appreciate the support you gave me through the rough times I was having. You are a good friend!

  6. You are most welcome. I am glad that you are on the “other” side now of the criticism. 2012 will be a year of great growth for humankind and I am glad that folks like you are here to deliver the messages. I look forward to more books from you. Enjoy the ride!

  7. Do you ever do personal readings? I have been struggling to get pregnant for 18 months and I am hoping to get some insight as to when it will finally happen for me. Anyway, I’m not sure if you do personal readings or not, but I figure it couldn’t hurt to ask.

    I couldn’t find contact info for you so hopefully leaving a comment will be okay. You can feel free to email you reply if you are able to. jennford919@gmail.com Thanks!

  8. Like you I remained half in and half out of the closet for many years because of the stigma attached to being a medium. I worried that this other side of me would create problems in my writing career. It feels great to be out!

  9. Ms. Crumley, my name is Kathryn Kashiwabara. You spoke with my mother Judy Cervera this morning at the grandparents school event and handed your business card to her. I love to write young adult fiction and have been trying to get published for years. Any advice you can provide will be greatly appreciated.

  10. Read your book last year, Karen, and have felt the weight of the world lifted from my shoulders in a sense, knowing that there is at least one other Christian woman out there who has an unusual gift and has reconciled it with her Christanity.This is something I’ve struggled with — though my pastor even has consented that God does indeed give us “diverse gifts,” it’s definitely a certain kind of burden — and not something I share with people. Still, it’s a comfort to see the practical perspective that you give concerning psychic and medium abilities — and it’s a revelationto know I’m not the only one. Now to figure out what to do with this thing…

    I came across a quote this morning (Epiphany 2014) I thought you might like, as it seems to apply if you read between the lines a bit:

    ” …If the Magi had had the same indifference which the majority of
    Christians have for heavenly things, they would have perhaps looked upon the star
    only as a curiosity, and they would have met, perchance, to seek for natural causes
    to account for its appearance. They would not have hastened to set out on so long a
    journey and in delaying to obey the secret order which impelled them onwards, they
    would have lost the greatest of blessings.”

    ST. AUGUSTINE
    Sermon 35 De Tempore.

    • Thank you, Lisa! I had never read that before. The beauty and power of God is so often missed. I take some heat sometimes about my gift and my new openness about it. But nothing can make draw me away from the love I feel when God uses me for His purpose. I am so happy that it helped you when you read the book. It was my purpose in writing it. I can tell you that I have become more bold in expressing what God gives me to give. I have been so timid with His gift in the past so I asked Him to give me the strength and boldness to do more for Him. He has answered my prayer and the gift has been increased. He has recently given me more understanding of the symbols He shows me. For the longest time, I could not understand them. It is still new, but I am understanding more now and it makes the gift so much easier to use for Him. So, I said all that to encourage you to ask Him to show you what He wants you to do with your gift. I promise He will show you. I am so happy to have found another sister! Let me know how your gift grows. I loved hearing from you!

      • Hi, Karen!
        I don’t want to be forward or intrusive, but would like to contact you privately if that’s possible. I’m feeling an increased concern about being “out there” in the muddy world of the spiritually gifted (as I think you are?), but feel like you’re a sister in Christ that will understand some of the dilemmas and concerns I have right now. I absolutely understand if this is an ill-time or ill-conceived request and take no offense at all. But if it’s possible… my contact information can be found on my blog (link connected here). Please pray on it? And let me know if you do decide to e-mail me in a reply here so I know to look through the tight filters on my e-mail for you? Or if there’s a better way to possibly get your counsel? Thanks, regardless, and God bless you!
        Lisa

  11. Dear karen;
    I just finished your book and I LOVED IT. I love anything psychic (as long as it is trustworthy and has validation), and I greatly appreciate the time and trouble you took to write it.
    I have written a 5 star review for you on Amazon that should be posted tomorrow sometime. Keep up the good work and I hope you find a psychic circle to further refine your talents and abilities. Like you, I like to help people. JoAnne
    My review:
    This is an excellent book about personal experiences in the life stories of a psychic women. Highly recommended. She personalizes her experiences and makes you feel as if you are there experiencing her stories, as she learns of her psychic experiences in small towns where apparently she is unable to connect with psychic circles which would teach her a whole lot more about how and when to use her gifts and would help her analyze her clues. She is obviously very talented, and so are her family members.
    Some suggestions though for this author. You might want to start or join a psychic circle to hone your skills and fill in holes. These meet once or twice per week, same time, for about an hour or so to do some discussion about issues and problems in delivering messages, and spirit is likely to come through one or more of the members very clearly to give additional advice and tips on how everyone can improve. Keep on looking.
    I like the story about Natalie Holloway. Maybe you wrote the book to get more clues to let everyone find her body. I am reading this in May of 2014, and far as I know the body has not been found. According to Wikipedia and the CNN blogs her body has not been found.
    If you want, you can contact me and I might be able to give you some ideas on how to contact the authorities to get someone out there with body sniffing dogs to locate her. I agree, her parents have suffered terribly and they need closure. My husband used to do business in Aruba and he says the perp’s family is very wealthy and connected and blocks things. (I won’t use the name because it gives energy to the perp).
    You see, by hooking up with other psychics, even if it is over the internet, you see clearly (clairvoyance), where and how people died. If you seek and pray, you might be able to link up with people that get the entire name of the location, when and where and by whom the body will be found, so you don’t have to worry. Things are meant to be, for whatever reason.
    I liked the story of the children and the aggressive mean spirit. I have personally experienced that before and got all of them to cross over. Keep on praying and talking to them all. You have to convince the mean spirit that God and Jesus forgives all and are kind and loving–even to the mean, and yes, even to Hitler types. The love, peace and beauty of God is for every single person. No judging.
    I would suggest you read about all the great psychics and their works too, starting with Edgar Cayce, Sylvia Browne, etc. You have a wonderful talent and it can be further developed if you want it to be. Another good book on spirituality is Korana of Mother Goddess on Amazon and Kindle. Many blessings to you and your good works.

  12. Karen, I was searching the internet and researching people that have had similar experiences and capabilities as mine and I came across your site and just ordered the book on Kindle. I am considering on writing a book with my girl friend who has been with me on several of my situations as we research it together. Just a handful of people know I am a closet medium and word is getting out more as I have to be careful based on my profession, etc. In fact that throughout my experiences I have had one very bad one and it gave me a new religious direction of which has significantly changed my life. I would like the opportunity to discuss my experiences with you as a means to compare

  13. Karen, I just finished your book and absolutely loved it. I am a lot of things, but gifted isn’t one of them (at least not in this sense), but because of my previous studies and what I’ve learned, what actually struck me about this whole story (and excites me a lot), is that these gifts appear in your case to be generational. There seems to be a genetic pattern, and that is very exciting. I’ve always been of the belief that these abilities are latent, probably in what was, up until a few years ago, referred to as “junk DNA”. The relatively new field of epigenetics is making us realize that this probably isn’t junk, but just latent abilities, no longer used, but that were probably used in early man or possibly as DNA constructs from other synergistic organisms throughout our evolution. The exciting thing is that if these gifts are latent in the genes, epigenetics suggests that they can be “turned on” through environmental or possibly diet or mental stimulus. Maybe all these closet mediums I see leaving replies are simply a very fortunate cohort of DNA mutation that activated the right area (that sounds really bad doesn’t it, but it’s actually a compliment from me). I think that maybe it can be turned on through meditation and focus, and your book has pushed me forward to see if that is possible. Thanks for the wonderful stories and inspiration.

    • I am so glad you enjoyed it. I have always known that the gift is from God, whatever form it takes. Since it was God who made us and therefore our DNA, maybe you are right and He can just turn it on through whatever mechanism He uses. I am not an expert on this, but I do understand what you are talking about as my degree is in microbiology. Interesting concept. Let me know how that goes.

Leave a Reply

